Hallowe’en Sugar Cookies

I made my own recipe for this! Sugar cookies are pretty easy and I have seen many recipes for them before, but I just wanted to see what I could do myself and I think it has turned out really well! They are so yummy and I have already had way too much of them! While they have been designed for Hallowe’en (decoration-wise) this is a great basic sugar cookie recipe to use whenever! It will definitely appear on here again.

I decided to use the bone shaped cookies cutter I have to make some of them a bit different too! I got this from my partners parents and yes I imagine is supposed to be for making dog biscuits, but when you study archaeological human remains you get a lot of bone themes gifts (I am in no way complaining about that). I may try the cookie cutter again at some point to make Maxxie some treats (I have seen some good and easy recipes around for dog treats).

This will probably be the last Hallowe’en themed post before the big day on Monday. J and I have our anniversary today, so I will be busy having some kind of mysterious fun (he won’t tell me what we are doing). I have had so much fun doing this October challenge and I plan on doing something very similar with holiday baking in December (lots of yummy treats and gift ideas). November might be a bit quieter as we are still eating our way through many of the yummy treats from the last few weeks. I will still aim to post twice a week, but there may be a chance I only get one up.

I really hoped you enjoyed the Hallowe’en recipes and I have been very flattered by the feedback I have gotten. So here is your last yummy spooky treat for this month.

Hallowe’en Sugar Cookies

This recipe makes about 51 cookies if using the bone shape cutter. The bone cookies are 117 calories each when not decorated. The big circles I did are about twice the size so they are 234 calories each.

dsc_0005

Ingredients:

  • 250g butter (room temp.)
  • 1.5 cups castor sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2.5 cups plain flour

Preparation:

  1. Cream butter and sugar in a stand mixer using the paddle attachment.
  2. Add eggs, vanilla and salt and beat until fluffy and light coloured.
  3. Add flour and mix on low until combined.
  4. Place dough in the fridge for a few hours until chilled (you can leave it overnight if you want).
    • I left mine for four hours because that is how long I popped out of the house for, but somewhere around two hours would likely be enough.
    • You can leave it in the mixing bowl, but I find it easier to scoop out and wrap in cling film so it is an easier shape to roll out when its stiff and chilled.
  5. Preheat oven to 170 C.
  6. Take dough out of fridge and placed on a clean surface (you can dust with flour, but do NOT use a lot).
  7. Roll dough out to your desired thickness. I made mine about 1cm thick so they were easy to pick up.
  8. Use your cookie cutter to cut our desired shapes.
    • I used my bone one and then a top of a glass to make circles.
    • When you run out of room, just pick up the scraps, squish them together and roll them out again!
    • dsc_0002
  9. Bake for 8-12 minutes until slightly golden on top.
  10. Remove and let cool. dsc_0003
  11. Now you can decorate them how you want!
    • For the bones I just dusted some icing sugar over them. For the circles I used icing (recipe is here) and coloured it green, black and orange to make some simple jack-o-lantern by piping on an outline.
    • These were primarily for adults so I didn’t want to go overboard on the icing, but you could ice them entirely for kids cookies.

dsc_0006

Now sit back and enjoy your Hallowe’en cookies!

Here is a printer friendly version:

Hallowe’en Sugar Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 250g butter (room temp.)
  • 1.5 cups castor sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2.5 cups plain flour

Preparation:

  1. Cream butter and sugar in a stand mixer using the paddle attachment.
  2. Add eggs, vanilla and salt and beat until fluffy and light coloured.
  3. Add flour and mix on low until combined.
  4. Place dough in the fridge for a few hours until chilled (you can leave it overnight if you want).
    • I left mine for four hours because that is how long I popped out of the house for, but somewhere around two hours would likely be enough.
    • You can leave it in the mixing bowl, but I find it easier to scoop out and wrap in cling film so it is an easier shape to roll out when its stiff and chilled.
  5. Preheat oven to 170 C.
  6. Take dough out of fridge and placed on a clean surface (you can dust with flour, but do NOT use a lot).
  7. Roll dough out to your desired thickness. I made mine about 1cm thick so they were easy to pick up.
  8. Use your cookie cutter to cut our desired shapes.
    • I used my bone one and then a top of a glass to make circles.
    • When you run out of room, just squish the scraps together and roll out again!
  9. Bake for 8-12 minutes until slightly golden on top.
  10. Remove and let cool.
  11. Now you can decorate them how you want!
    • For the bones I just dusted some icing sugar over them. For the circles I used icing (recipe is here) and coloured it green, black and orange to make some simple jack-o-lantern by piping on an outline.
    • These were primarily for adults so I didn’t want to go overboard on the icing, but you could ice them entirely for kids cookies.
One thought on “Hallowe’en Sugar Cookies

Leave a Reply

