Apple Pie Bites

As promised yesterday. Here is a nice and easy recipe for yummy individual apple pie bites.

I got the idea from this blog here, but I have never liked doing things from a can, so I decided to try making my own pastry and you can check out how to do it here. I will mention how I did it through the recipe, but I will show you how to do it with the pre-made dough too.

I do understand fully that these would be a much quicker and easier treat if you use the pre-made pastry and I may try that in the future depending on how much they are liked! I am really happy that this pushed me to try making my own laminated dough though. It always looks so complicated on bake off and I never thought I would manage it! I am still really impressed about the people on bakeoff doing it though because it took me two days of work to laminate and prep it properly and they usually have a few hours. Paul and Mary are very mean!

These are so lovely and they made the kitchen smell ridiculously good!

Apple Pie Bites

This recipe makes 8 bites at 268 calories each.

dsc_9780

The dough recipe I made in yesterdays post makes enough for 24 so either you can triple the recipe or do what I did and make 8 apple pie bites and 16 normal croissants.

Ingredients:

  • One 8-ounce can of Pillsbury Original (or other) crescent roll dough. Or alternatively you can make your own the day before using my recipe here.
  • 1/4 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1 tsp apple pie spice (I didn’t have this so I made my own)
    • To make your own combine (you will have a LOT extra so don’t just throw this all into the recipe).
      1. 2 Tbs cinnamon
      2. 3/4 tsp ground nutmeg
      3. 1/4 tsp allspice (I left this out because I didn’t have it)
      4. 1/2 tsp ground ginger
      5. 1/2 tsp ground cardamon
  • 3 Tbs melted butter
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans.
  • 1 small Granny Smith apple (peeled, cored and cut into eight pieces)

Preparation:

  1. If you are making your own laminated dough you will need to make it the day before. Follow all steps until you have 8 triangles ready to go (don’t put the cut along the base in, this doesn’t work well with the apples).
  2. Prep your apple pie spice if you are making your own, chop your pecans and prep your apple slices.
  3. Mix together the brown sugar and apple pie spice and then spread evenly over all 8 triangles.dsc_9764
  4. Evenly spread the pecans over the triangles.dsc_9767
  5. Melt the butter and mix the apple slices through it.
  6. Place an apple slice on the bottom of each triangle and roll up. Make sure to set them so they won’t unroll.
  7. Brush the extra butter over the top of rolls.
  8. Sprinkle over a tiny pinch more of the apple pie spice and some more brown sugar if you want.dsc_9773
    • I just used the excess that had spilled out as I rolled them.
  9. Place rolls on a lined baking tray.
  10. If you have used your own laminated dough it is a good idea to let is rise for 2-3 hours at this point to get best results. I don’t believe you need to do this with pre-made dough.
  11. Preheat oven to 180 C and bake for about 10-15 minutes or golden brown.
  12. Cool for five minutes before serving.dsc_9775

Enjoy!

Here is a print friendly version and if you want more tips and tricks you can read above:

Ingredients:

  • One 8-ounce can of Pillsbury Original (or other) crescent roll dough. Or alternatively you can make your own the day before using my recipe here.
  • 1/4 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1 tsp apple pie spice (I didn’t have this so I made my own)
    • To make your own combine (you will have a LOT extra so don’t just throw this all into the recipe).
      1. 2 Tbs cinnamon
      2. 3/4 tsp ground nutmeg
      3. 1/4 tsp allspice (I left this out because I didn’t have it)
      4. 1/2 tsp ground ginger
      5. 1/2 tsp ground cardamon
  • 3 Tbs melted butter
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans.
  • 1 small Granny Smith apple (peeled, cored and cut into eight pieces)

Preparation:

  1. If you are making your own laminated dough you will need to make it the day before. Follow all steps until you have 8 triangles ready to go (don’t put the cut along the base in, this doesn’t work well with the apples).
  2. Prep your apple pie spice if you are making your own, chop your pecans and prep your apple slices.
  3. Mix together the brown sugar and apple pie spice and then spread evenly over all 8 triangles.
  4. Evenly spread the pecans over the triangles.
  5. Melt the butter and mix the apple slices through it.
  6. Place an apple slice on the bottom of each triangle and roll up. Make sure to set them so they won’t unroll.
  7. Brush the extra butter over the top of rolls.
  8. Sprinkle over a tiny pinch more of the apple pie spice and some more brown sugar if you want.
    • I just used the excess that had spilled out as I rolled them.
  9. Place rolls on a lined baking tray.
  10. If you have used your own laminated dough it is a good idea to let is rise for 2-3 hours at this point to get best results. I don’t believe you need to do this with pre-made dough.
  11. Preheat oven to 180 C and bake for about 10-15 minutes or golden brown.
  12. Cool for five minutes before serving.
2 thoughts on “Apple Pie Bites

Leave a Reply

