Yellow Cake with Cinnamon Chocolate Icing

One of my good friends, Caroline, had her birthday two days ago and we threw her a little party today. Her favourite cake is a yellow cake. I am not sure, but I think its a more popular thing over in North America than here in Scotland, so I thought I would make it for her little surprise birthday celebrations today.

dsc_9679

I have had the cake she makes many times and it is delicious, but for this blog post I have used a recipe I found online that differs from hers a bit (I had already bought the ingredients when I managed to get ahold of her recipe). Also the blog I got this recipe from is from North America and it is call Something Swanky, but I live in the UK so that is not how I have been reading the URL. I also prefer baking with butter over oil, but I can do a post with her recipe in the future!

The best part of a Caroline yellow cake is the cinnamon chocolate icing. I did have her recipe for this, but apparently my photography skills are a bit lacking and I cut out the measurements in the photo. But fear not! I have created my very own cinnamon chocolate icing recipe from scratch and boy does it taste good!

My mum always made cake icing from scratch without a recipe when I was a kid and so that is how I grew up making it. Generally speaking you can make a pretty good icing with icing sugar, milk, butter, vanilla and cocoa powder without measuring anything as long as you have a good eye and you are happy to taste as you go. I have measured everything for this recipe though so you can replicate it very easily!

Traditionally yellow cake is a sheet cake, but I decided to try out my new spring form cake pans this time (I got them for my birthday and haven’t used them yet). I used two cake forms that equate to 8″ round and a 9″ round, but you can also use a cake pan that is 9″x 13″ if you want to make the traditional sheet.

This is a super simple recipe and very very yummy so I encourage everyone to try it! Caroline’s idea to use cinnamon chocolate frosting just makes it that much better and gives it a really nice fall/winter flavour!

Yellow Cake with Cinnamon Chocolate Icing 

If you cut the cake into 12 pieces it is 530 calories per slice.

dsc_9671

Ingredients:

Cake:

  • 1 cup butter (melted)
  • 1 3/4 cup castor sugar
  • 2 medium eggs
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 2 1/2 cup plain flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Icing:

  • 1/3 cup butter (melted)
  • 1/4 cup cocoa
  • 2 cups icing sugar
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon

 

Preparation:

  1. Preheat the oven to 170 C
  2. Melt the butter and in a stand mixer combine it with the sugar, eggs, vanilla, sour cream and milk and whisk together.dsc_9660
    • I don’t know why, but I wound up doing this by hand last night and it only take a minute or two to whisk up.
  3. In a separate bowl combine the flour, baking soda and salt.
  4. Pour the flour mixture into the stand mixer and mix on a low setting just until combined. Don’t over mix.dsc_9661
  5. Pour better into two lined spring form trays (one 8″ round, one 9″ round) or a rectangular cake pan (13″ x 9″).
  6. Place in oven for 30 minutes.
  7. Allow to cool before icing.dsc_9668
  8. For the icing, place all ingredients into a stand mixer and blend together until smooth.
    • This is not a normal butter cream icing, so make sure the butter is MELTED before you use it. We aren’t whipping it.
    • If the mixture is too wet for your liking, add more sugar. If it is too dry add more butter or milk. Be careful with the balance if adding more sugar because it can wind up tasting powdery if not balanced with the amount of butter.
    • Don’t forget to lick the beater!
  9. Ice the cakes, and for mine I stacked the heart shape one on the round.
    • To do this I iced the bottom cake first and then inserted some toothpicks to prevent the top tier from sliding or cracking. Place the top tier on and ice that as well.

Hope you enjoyed! I think Caroline did!

dsc_9681

 

Leave a Reply

