Kinda Fudgey Brownies

While brownies are one of my favourite desserts, they are also one I really struggle to bake. I think this is because, while there are a lot of recipes out there, a lot of them aren’t very good.

To me a good brownie is very fudgey and not super cakey. That is a personal opinion and there are plenty of people who like the more cake-like option, but for me that is just a nice chocolate cake and not a true brownie.

My go-to recipe for brownies when I was a kid was a cake based one and they really only were nice when they are iced. If you do a fudge brownie right, they shouldn’t need this. I thought this blog might be a nice way to explore some recipes and try and find a better home made brownie one.

To start I used the one found here. I thought I would have some luck with it because the opening talked about trying to make a chocolate based brownie that did not come out cakey. While it was not super cakey and they do taste nice, they are definitely not the decadent fudgey brownie that was aiming for. I will walk you through the recipe in this blog post, because it might be the nice balance between cakey and fudgey that some people like, but for me I will still need to keep hunting. So watch out for further brownie recipe updates in the future!

The key to a nice fudgey brownie is to use chocolate and not cocoa powder (this is better for a cake-like result if that is what you like). While this recipe does use some chocolate, it still has a large amount of flour and cocoa powder in it, which I think is what makes is a little dryer than I would like. If I were to try and update this recipe I would increase the chocolate and possibly decrease the flour in the recipe.

If you would like me to try and update this recipe instead of just trying another one I would be happy to do a more experimental blog post! If you know what I do, I am always happy to try some new scientific experiments! Comment below if you would like to see this!

I do want to say that it is a good recipe and I don’t want to insult the person who wrote it, it just isn’t quite what I look for in a brownie.

Fudgey Brownies

I cut the brownies into 12 pieces.

The brownies are 318 calories per piece.

dsc_9589

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup and 2 Tbs butter (room temperture)
  • 1 cup castor sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 Tbs espresso powder*
  • 2 Tbs warm water*
  • 200g (7oz) dark chocolate
  • 2/3 cup plain flour
  • 1 Tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup chocolate chips (optional)

*You could sub out the espresso powder and warm water for a single shot of espresso. This is always a good trick when baking anything with chocolate. The end result is usually not ‘coffee flavoured’ unless you add more espresso, but it enhances and enriches the chocolate flavour.

Preparation:

  1. In a stand mixer or mixing bowl, cream together butter and castor sugar and beat until light and fluffy.dsc_9578
    • In my opinion this recipe is done in an odd order and a nicer flavour would be achieved by combining the butter with sugar during step five and starting the recipe at step two.
  2. Add the eggs and vanilla and beat for 5 minutes, making sure everything combines.
  3. Mix together espresso powder and warm water in a small bowl (or make a shot of espresso).dsc_9579
  4. Add the espresso to the mixture and stir just until combined.
  5. Melt chocolate over a double boiler on the stove and add to the mixture. Stir until combined, don’t over stir.
  6. Whisk together flour and cocoa powder in a separate bowl.dsc_9584
  7. Add flour to the mixture and stir until combine. Once again be careful not to over mix.
  8. Pour into a lined baking tray about 8″ x 8″.dsc_9586
  9. You can sprinkle some chocolate chips over the top as an added extra.
  10. Bake in an oven preheated to 170 C for about 35 minutes.
  11. Cool and cut into 12 pieces.dsc_9588

Give it a shot and let me know what you think! I would love to hear your own feedback!

One thought on “Kinda Fudgey Brownies

Leave a Reply

