Banana Bread Three Ways (Part 1)

The amount of bananas eaten in my household fluctuates a lot and it means that occasionally I am left with very brown unappealing ones sitting in my fruit bowl. When bananas get to this point I throw them in the freezer to use for baking (this is a really great trick I will talk more about in this post).

I have a tendency to not notice how many bananas wind up in my freezer until I am trying to jam groceries in. I had this exact problem this morning, so I thought it would be a great chance to show off my favourite banana bread recipe!

This is an old recipe I got from my mum and makes some of the most addictive banana bread you will ever taste! But instead of just doing my normal bake with this, I thought I would show three different ways you can twist this recipe to make some very yummy treats!

To show off these three ways, I am going to split this into two blog posts – one for the main recipe and one for the little twists I did. They will all fit together though and hopefully you will be interested to see the different twists!

I am going to start with the plain and simple loaf, this will give you the basic recipe that all these treats were modelled on!

Banana Bread

 

This recipe makes two loaves. Banana bread doesn’t rise as much as other bread, so they are relatively thin loaves.

If you cut each loaf into 6 pieces, each piece is 138 calories (I kinda can’t believe how low that is considering how yummy they are)!

dsc_9500

Ingredients:

  • 1 3/4 cup plain flour
  • 2/3 cup castor sugar
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup mashed ripe banana*
  • 1/3 cup butter (melted)
  • 2 tbs. milk
  • 2 eggs

*I mentioned that I freeze my overripe bananas for baking. You can actually do this with normal ripe bananas as well. By freezing them and thawing them, it makes the banana super mushy and a really good texture for baking!

 

Preparation:

This recipe is incredibly simple and very forgiving so have fun!

  1. Preheat the oven to 170C
  2. Combine all dry ingredients together in a stand mixer.dsc_9461
  3. Separate the bananas from their skins and mash with a fork. Frozen and defrosted bananas look gross, but they work!
  4. Add mashed bananas, melted butter, milk and eggs and mix.
  5. Pour batter evenly into two lined loaf tins.dsc_9467
  6. Bake for 30-35 minutes until the tops are brown and if you insert a toothpick, it comes out clean. dsc_9481

Go ahead and try this very yummy and simple recipe and stay tuned for tomorrow’s post showing you a few easy and fun twists! Max thought it was so easy that he feel asleep!

dsc_9479

One thought on “Banana Bread Three Ways (Part 1)

Leave a Reply

