Vanilla Baileys’ Cup Cakes

As a general rule I am not the biggest fan of store bought cup cakes. I think most of the time they look beautiful, but they usually just don’t taste that great. That all ended when I found Bibi’s Bakery in Edinburgh! I think most of my friends can attest to how amazing these are and how much I love them.

Bibi’s is awesome as well because they put there basic vanilla cupcake recipe online and it really does make the same cupcakes. I have taken this recipe and added a little boozy twist to make a yummy evening indulgence.

Baileys’ is one of my favourite little indulgences, especially poured into a lovely late night hot chocolate (this has quite a bit of special meaning to me and Jürgen as it is one of the first little gestures he did that made me start to fall for him). I was experimenting a few months back with cupcakes and thought it might make a nice addition to buttercream icing. I have gone one step further for this recipe and now it is in everything! And if you have the bottle out, you might as well have a little sip while you bake.

I was making these for some friends coming over as a nice little treat to go with tea. I have just done the icing as a basic spread with a knife affair, but I was thinking about doing a cupcake challenge later on in the year and might use that to try some different piping techniques.

They might not look super beautiful, but I promise that they are crazy delicious! The recipe makes a really nice light cake and a very indulgent sweet icing.

Oven update: It is still broken, but I was able to make these with the fan grill setting!

Vanilla Baileys’ Cup Cakes

I made 16 cupcakes at about 311 calories a cake.

DSC_9456

Ingredients:

Cake:

  • 200g stork (tub not block)
    • It is very important here to use stork, not butter or anything else!
  • 220g caster sugar
  • 240g self rising flour
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
    • Always use extract, never essence
  • 2 Tbs Baileys’

Icing:

  • 500g icing sugar
  • 250g unsalted butter (room temp.)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 Tbs Baileys’

Preparation:

Cake:

  1. Preheat oven to 150C.
  2. In a stand mixer using the paddle attachment, whip stork until very soft and pale.
  3. Add all ingredients and mix until incorporated. Don’t over mix, just until everything is together and smooth.DSC_9446
  4. Line a cupcake/muffin tray with liners. These liners are lovely silicone one’s curtesy of my wonderful friend Fiona!DSC_9444
  5. Spoon in mix into cases.
    • Half full cases will make flat cakes, 3/4 full cases will make domed cakes.
  6. Bake for about 20 minutes, until tops are golden brown. You can insert a wooden toothpick or skewer and it should come out clean when they are done.DSC_9449

Icing:

  1. Make sure the butter is at room temperture, almost melting, but not yet. The icing won’t come out nicely if it melts.
  2. Beat butter until pale.DSC_9451
  3. Add icing sugar 1/3 at a time on slow and then medium speed.
    • Warning: this will make a mess, I cover the top of the bowl with a cloth to help contain it, but mess comes with icing sugar.
  4. Add vanilla and Bailey’s and beat until fluffy (at least 5 minutes).DSC_9453
  5. If you want you can add a colour to the icing at the very end and mix until combined. Although Ninke Harten and I would advise against using blue…it can stain awkwardly.
  6. Wait until the cupcakes are cooled and then ice anyway you want. Don’t forget to lick the spoon at the end! DSC_9457

Enjoy!!!!

One thought on “Vanilla Baileys’ Cup Cakes

Leave a Reply

