Mim’s Signature Chocolate Chip Cookies

So I thought I would return from holidays and make one of my favourite recipes. This has been one of my top things to bake since I was pretty young. It started as a recipe my mum adapted from a kids cookie book and then I made some more changes over the years. I haven’t shared this recipe very often before, but I thought it would be fun for others to try and it is one of the few things my brother compliments me on, so it must be pretty good.

But before I get to the recipe I need to mention of few little changes that have happened around home…

As of yesterday I now have a very lovely and sweet baking assistant! He is a bit lazy on the job, but he is only young so I think he will learn…

DSC_9406Also I recently had a birthday and my ridiculously lovely friends Fiona and Mike have very much spoiled me with new baking goods, so these will likely be making a lot of appearances on the blog over the next while!

 

DSC_9391

 

A second very sweet birthday treat was from my partner, Jürgen, who had some very professional looking business cards made up from my blog! It was very lovely of him, although I don’t know if I feel professional enough for that yet! But I have them now, so it will be fun to give them out.

DSC_9413

 

Now back to the baking. A very thoughtful colleague of Jürgen’s, Amy, has been following my blog and knew that I struggle to get butterscotch chips for baking in the UK, so she brought some back for me! Very nice of her and very important for this recipe, so this post is dedicated to her! Thanks Amy! I will be sending some of these to you via J on Tuesday!

After all that rambling on, let me get back on track and give you a recipe!

Mim’s Signature Chocolate Chip Cookies

DSC_9414

I made 32 cookies with this recipe.

Each cookie is 192 calories.

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup butter softened
  • 1 cup granulated or castor sugar*
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 cup oats**
  • 1 cup milk chocolate chips
  • 1 cup butterscotch chips

*I use castor sugar in the UK as I find the regular white granulated sugar makes the cookies come out really grainy. I never had this problem in Canada and was always able to use normal granulated sugar there. Maybe it is a finer grain or something…But this is why my recipes usually call for castor sugar and not granulated sugar.

** There are a couple of fun twists on this recipe when it comes to the oats. I will do examples of these in future posts, but you can leave the oats out (although you will need to add some extra flour so the dough isn’t too wet (about an extra 1/3 cup) or you can sub them for coconut, which tastes really lovely too!

 

Preparation:

  1. Preheat the oven to 190 C.
  2. In a stand mixer combine butter and sugar. You can cream it or melt the butter entirely and then mix, both work just fine (I have tested them many times, although the melted butter is usually the way I go).DSC_9400
  3. Add eggs, vanilla, baking soda and salt and combine.
  4. Add flour and oats mixing until well combined.
  5. Gently mix in chocolate and butterscotch chips until evenly spread through the dough.
    • Sub-step here: sample the dough! IT IS SO GOOD!!!!!
  6. Divide dough into rough blobs and place on a lined cookie sheet. They don’t need to be pretty!
  7. Place in the oven for approx. 10 minutes, until edges are golden brown.DSC_9411
  8. Eat and ENJOY!!!!!

DSC_9415

Now everyone knows the secret to my signature cookies…Hope you enjoy them as much as I do!

 

Leave a Reply

