Spiced Carrot and Apple Muffins

Spiced carrot muffins are one of my favorites, but I have never thought to make them before. At Queen’s I used to get a carrot muffin and a white hot chocolate when I was studying in the library and I forgot how much I enjoyed the muffins! I thought I would try my hand at a new recipe that I found online.

They definitely came out warm, light and yummy! I think they are not quite the ones I remember though and I will probably keep experimenting with some other recipes. I am going to keep this one though, I think they will make great and healthy snacks!

 

Carrot and Apple Muffins

The recipe is for 12 muffins, but I made then a bit smaller and wound up with 17.

Each muffin is 168 calories if making 17 muffins.

DSC_0042

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups plain flour
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 2 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 150g grated apple (this was two medium granny smiths)
  • 150g grated carrots (this was two medium carrots)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup milk (I used 2%, but any should work)
  • 1/2 cup sunflower oil (can use vegetable oil too)

Preparation:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180C/ 350F.
  2. Line a muffin tray with muffin cases or grease the muffin pots.DSC_0022
  3. In a bowl mix together flour, oats, baking powder, spices and sugar.
  4. Grate carrots and apples and add to the dry ingredients, mix until combined.DSC_0023
  5. In a stand mixer combine the eggs vanilla extract, milk and oil.
  6. Add the dry ingredients and beat on lowest level until ingredients have just combined with no lumps of flour. Don’t over mix!DSC_0026
  7. Divide and place into muffin cases. It was about two heaped spoonfuls in each cup.DSC_0029
  8. Bake in over for 15-20 minutes. The muffins should have risen and become lightly golden, if you insert a toothpick or wooden skewer it should come out clean.
  9. Allow to cool in muffin tray for a few minutes and then cool on a wire rack.DSC_0043

 

Next time I might use this recipe, but double the amount of cinnamon and ginger that went in. I would also consider changing the oil to butter and possibly changing some of the apple for more carrot. I think baking with butter usually winds up tasting a bit nicer. I will post a follow-up when I try the recipe again!

Enjoy the yummy muffins!!!!

One thought on “Spiced Carrot and Apple Muffins

Leave a comment