Quadruple Chocolate Cookie Heaven

So I have a HUGE sweet tooth, and that sweet tooth loves chocolate the most. So when I spotted a recipe in the Hummingbird Bakery book for double chocolate cookies that looked nice, I thought I could make a few twists and make it even better!DSC_0307

The original recipe made only 12 cookies, but I thought I would double it to make enough to share with others (like I said, big chocolate-related sweet tooth). I had to make a few little twists to the recipe for practicalities as well. I found the batter very runny at first and I was worried that the cookies would just turn into liquid blobs on the baking sheet before they went in the over so I upped the original flour amount by just a smidgen and I think they have turned out great.

The batter also solidified slightly while it sits, so I found my second and third batch that went into the over were slightly firmer and the cookies came out a tiny bit less shiny. I would maybe try to keep the batter in a warmer spot (not next to the open window) next time.

The batter was very yummy and the cookies are even better! They are very rich and fudgy!

So here we go, so you can try them too!!!

Quadruple Chocolate Cookies

The recipe is designed to make 24 cookies, but I made them a tiny bit smaller (still good sized though) and got 31 out of the recipe.

For 31 cookies, each cookie is 261 calories.

DSC_0764

Ingredients:

  • 100g unsalted butter
  • 450g dark chocolate roughly chopped*
  • 4 eggs
  • 340g brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 200g plain flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 450g of chocolate chunks to mix in**
    • 50g dark chocolate roughly chopped
    • 100g milk chocolate roughly chopped
    • 300g white chocolate roughly chopped

 

*Anywhere it says roughly chopped chocolate, you can also use chocolate chips! I used a combo because it is what I had in the house.

**The amounts of chocolate for the filling needs to equal 450g in total, but you could adjust how much is dark, milk and white chocolate. The original recipe just had these as dark chocolate, I switched it up to three different types so that the cookies would have a bit of a yummy twist. The ingredients list shows the amount I used of each. I like the balance of having it mostly white as it is a nice contrast to the rich dark chocolate of the cookie batter.

SO MUCH YUMMY CHOCOLATE!

 

Preparation:

  1. Preheat oven to 170 C (325 F) Gas mark 3.
  2. Put butter and the 450g of dark chocolate in a double boiler and melt over a medium heat. Stir occasionally to make sure its melting and not burning.
    • It is easy to make a double boiler at home using a pot with water in it placed on the stove with a heat proof bowl or second pot placed on top. Make sure not to let the upper pot sit in the water below. This heats the second pot with steam and prevents the chocolate from burning as it melts. DSC_0755
  3. Combine eggs, sugar and vanilla in a stand mixer (paddle attachment) or a hand mixer and beat until well combined.
  4. Pour melted chocolate into mixer on low speed until well mixed.DSC_0756
  5. Combine flour, salt and baking powder in a second bowl.
  6. Slowly add dry ingredients into chocolate mixture about 1/3 at a time, mixing well between additions.
  7. Stir in the 450g of chocolate chunks into the mix.DSC_0760
  8. Line cookies sheets with baking paper.
  9. Place six equal amounts of cookie batter onto each cookie sheet.
  10. Bake in over for 10-15 minutes. Because these cookies are dark brown it can be a bit tricky telling when they are done. Check regularly after 10 minutes. The tops should look cracked and shinny when they are done. They should still be soft if you poke them.
  11. Let the cookies cool and ENJOY ALL THE CHOCOLATEY GOODNESS!!!!

DSC_0767

These have turned out so well, they will be a permanent addition to my repertoire of baking in the future! I have always loved cookies like this from bakeries, now I have my very own!

 

Leave a Reply

